The Seven Main Arabic Parts

The seven main Arabic Parts address/depict the major themes in human life as do the seven main planets. When they are activated those themes are present either as descriptors of obvious events or as indicators the underlying theme to the native’s experience on the personality level at the time surrounding the events.

They are a must in psychological and spiritual natal delineation and prediction.?But they?work equally well in horary. Of course, if the question is about a lost cat, or getting a job, they do not have much, if anything, to say.

They do become rather eloquent when looking “under the hood” of the human psyche. They, along with the fixed stars, outline in remarkable detail the essential qualities of an experience, rather than the superficial or visible qualities which the planets usually tend to depict. Essence and Personality, Lesson and Experience, Why and How: two deeply interconnected but distinct levels of “being human”.

This is intended as a brief overview of the gist of their meanings and how they are calculated. I will elaborate and exemplify in future articles. I follow Al Biruni’s calculations; they work spot on. But I added Paul of Alexandria’s too in case you wish to compare in your own charts.

Fortuna (Moon)
Asc + Moon – Sun
Hunger or deep desire for something or for some experience. Being empty or unfulfilled. Receiving something.
Psychological: feeling lacking, longing, desiring, needing.

Part of Spirit (Sun)
Asc + Sun – Moon
Also called the Part of Abundance.
Having something or some experience, being full. Therefore pouring out. Expression. Giving something.
Psychological: feeling satisfied, fulfilled, needless.

Love (Venus)
Asc + Spirit – Fortuna (Al Biruni)
Asc + Venus – Spirit (Paul of Alexandria)
Union with the beloved. Beauty.?
Psychological: feeling peace, tranquility, in love.

Despair (Mercury)
Asc + Fortuna – Spirit (Al Biruni)
Asc + Fortuna – Mercury (Paul of Alexandria)
Also called the Part of Necessity.
Decisions. The negotiations required in daily life. The need and inevitability of compromise. Choice between two good things and having to let go of one because we cannot have both. Letting go. Therefore, separation from the beloved. (the opposite of the part of Love)
Psychological: feeling separated, restless, disappointed, accepting.

Captivity (Saturn)
Asc + Fortuna – Saturn
Also called the Part of Release From Captivity, or Part of Those Who Rise in Station.
Things that imprison us or cause us to feel imprisoned, limited. It also spells the way out of imprisonment since harnessing the nature of Saturn is what gives us the key to be free from it.
Psychological: feeling restricted or obstructed. Feeling in control.?

Victory (Jupiter)
Asc + Jupiter – Spirit
Grace from above. Receipt of gifts from outside regardless of deserving or not.
Psychological: feeling blessed, grateful, connected, united.

Courage (Mars)
Asc + Fortuna – Mars
Right action. Doing the right thing regardless of the dictates of the ego or personality traits. Acting from conscience.
Psychological: feeling rightful, unwavering, powerful.

There are many other meanings for psychological interpretation. As many meanings as there are states of mind. That will be the subject of a future article.

Why don’t you reverse the formula of Fortuna by night?

Because it makes no sense to me to reverse it. The Moon does not reverse its movement by night, so why would any Arabic part based on the Moon do so?


Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Subscribe to be notified about new articles

In you like being addressed by name enter it below. Else leave blank.



Subscribe for news, articles and updates!